Traditional Values, Outstanding Location

Discover our
History

Situated at the head of Killary Harbour, the Convent Guesthouse offers unrivalled views of the Killary and the fantastic mountain scenery that bounds it. The guesthouse is in the very heart of the village of Leenane.

The house was built in the mid nineteenth century by a wealthy wool trader and had several owners through to the mid 1920's when a store and shop were added to the grounds.

The house was then purchased and converted to a convent by the Mercy order of nuns who extended the house and built the beautiful oratory.

The Hamilton family purchased the building in the mid 70's and converted it to a guesthouse, whilst carefully preserving the unique character of the building.

The guesthouse boasts 5 rooms, all en suite and all with breathtaking views of the Killary. Breakfast is served under the stained glass windows in the unique atmosphere of the old chapel. A private sitting room is available to our guests.

Modern requirements are pandered to with WiFi connectivity, TV lounge and tea and coffee making facilities.

Our more active guest may make use of lockable storage for bikes / fishing equipment and clothes drying facilities are available for cyclists and walkers.

Our Rooms

The Guesthouse

Facillities

All rooms En Suite.
All rooms have Killary Harbour view.
All rooms have TV.
Guest Lounge.
Tea/Coffee making facilities.
WiFi connectivity.
Clothes drying facilities for cyclists/walkers.
Lockable bike storage.
Private sitting room.
Unique chapel breakfast room.

© Copyright 2020 The Convent, Leenane - All Rights Reserved